← Review playground Ops Board ↗
Reader doc

Sales Navigator: the courses worth taking (RME-178)

Not indexed. Rendered from 01-library/research/2026-09-28-sales-navigator-courses.md. Highlight any line and use Hypothesis on the right edge to leave a note.

Sales Navigator courses worth taking

Your job here. Read "The pick" and the three-row table, about 3 minutes. Skip the plans, limits and sources sections unless a question comes up. The one choice for YT is in the playbook, not here: nothing on this page needs a decision.

Short answer. Take two free LinkedIn courses, in this order: the 45-minute Essentials course this week, then the 55-minute Next Steps course once the saved searches exist. Both come with the Sales Navigator seat YT already has. No paid course is clearly better, so none is recommended.

Re-checked 2026-09-28 for RME-178. Both LinkedIn course pages still load with the same titles, lengths and parts, and still show no update date. The public how-to guide still loads, footer dated

  1. LinkedIn's help page still says it "currently doesn't offer the option to export account and

lead information from Sales Navigator into a CSV or XLS file", which matches YT's seat (no CSV export). The playbook covers what that means and the workaround.

YT asked for the best Sales Navigator class, free if possible and current. Open web was allowed for this ticket only (decision linked above). Every fact below has its source and the date it was checked. Nothing was signed up for, no trial was started and no account was connected.

The pick: start with LinkedIn's own Essentials course

Sales Navigator: Essentials Course, on LinkedIn's Sales Solutions Customer Learning Center. 45 minutes, five short parts, self-paced, progress is saved between sittings. It is LinkedIn's own training for its current product, and it covers exactly the three things our playbook uses: find the right people, understand them, reach out. Take it first, then use our playbook to apply it to our audience.

The three options

1. Essentials Course (pick)2. Next Steps Course3. Learning LinkedIn Sales Navigator
Who runs itLinkedIn Sales Solutions Customer Learning CenterSameLinkedIn Learning, instructor Thomas Creighton de Farias
Linktraining.sales.linkedin.com/linkedin-sales-navigator-starter-plantraining.sales.linkedin.com/advanced-sales-navigator-tips-learning-planlinkedin.com/learning/learning-linkedin-sales-navigator-17282699
Length45 min: intro 10, Target 10, Understand 10, Engage 10, "in your workflow" 555 min: Target, Understand, Engage, next steps1 h 9 min, five chapters, five quizzes
CostNo price shown. Sign-in with a LinkedIn login, and the page offers a licence-code route. Its own page data marks it as not open to the public, so expect it to unlock with a Sales Navigator seat. Nothing extra to pay if YT has one.Same as 1Needs LinkedIn Learning. Sales Navigator Core does not include it (LinkedIn help page below). Third-party price guides put it at about $39.99 a month through LinkedIn Premium, not confirmed on a LinkedIn page.
Published or updatedNo date on the page. The site footer is dated 2026 and the course sits next to current features (Account IQ, CRM sync), so it looks maintained, but LinkedIn does not state an update date.No date on the page, same siteReleased 23 Dec 2022. No update since. Older than the current interface.
Who it suitsNew users, or anyone refreshing the basics. YT's starting point.After the Essentials course, once saved searches and lists are set up (week 2)Only someone with LinkedIn Learning and no Sales Navigator seat. Skip it otherwise.
ExtraPart of the Essentials Certificate path, which adds a 4 min activation guide, a 3 min "book of business" video and a survey, and emails a certificateBuilds on the Essentials courseShareable certificate, rated 4.7 of 5 by 4,572 learners

Also on the same Learning Center, if a question comes up later: a 43 min recorded version of the Essentials session (sales-navigator-essentials-recorded), short videos under 5 minutes each (for example Account IQ, 3 min), and live webinars with no dates shown on the public page.

Why not the others we found

on-demand course on a sales-training site). Nothing in them is clearly better than LinkedIn's own free course for our use, and prices and dates were not public. Not recommended.

tools, which is exactly what our playbook rules out. Not recommended as a class.

What the plans include, and prices (for context and for Vy's seat)

From LinkedIn's compare-plans page and help pages, checked 2026-09-28:

CoreAdvanced
Price (USD)$119.99 a month, or $1,079.88 a year$159.99 a month, or $1,799.88 a year, per seat
Search, saved searches, alerts, lead listsyesyes
Account IQ, Lead IQ, Relationship Explorer, 50 InMails a monthyes (compare-plans page)yes
Share lead lists and saved searches with a colleaguenoyes, with other Sales Navigator users at the same company
TeamLink (see who on the team knows a prospect)no, the help page says Advanced and Advanced Plus onlyyes
TeamLink Extend (adds colleagues without a seat to TeamLink)noan add-on on Advanced contracts
Team seat management, central billing, reportingnoyes, up to five seats bought online
LinkedIn Learningnot included (Core brings Premium Career features, without Learning)not stated

Free trials exist for Core and Advanced. We started none.

The compare-plans page also lists TeamLink among Core features, while the TeamLink help page says Advanced and Advanced Plus only. The help page is the more specific source, so the playbook treats TeamLink as not available on Core. YT can confirm in one look at her own Sales Navigator.

Vy's learning path (Vy has no seat, YT confirmed 2026-09-28 via the Content PM)

Vy cannot open the Learning Center courses without a seat, and must never use YT's login (LinkedIn's User Agreement 2.2 forbids sharing an account).

  1. Now, free, no login: LinkedIn's own public guide

How to use Sales Navigator, a written step-by-step guide with screenshots (setup, finding leads, research, engaging), about 15 minutes to read. No date on the page, footer dated 2025.

  1. Now, together: sit in while YT takes the Essentials course (her screen, her login), 45 minutes. Watching

is fine, logging in as YT is not.

  1. Then: our playbook, especially "Vy without a seat".
  2. If Vy gets a seat: the same two courses as YT, Essentials (45 min) then Next Steps (55 min), free with

the seat.

Skip the LinkedIn Learning course for Vy too: it is paid and dates from 2022.

LinkedIn's own rules on automation (for the account risk section of the playbook)

unauthorized automated methods to access the Services, add or download contacts, send or redirect messages". The same section bans scraping with "browser plugins and add-ons", and creating a profile "for anyone other than yourself". Section 2.2 says not to "share or transfer your account".

shut down", and the tools "may become non-operational without notice".

one-week restriction on invitations. It restricts invitations when many are sent in a short time, when they are ignored, left pending or marked as spam, or when "an excessive number of invitations" comes with suspected automation. Too many outstanding invitations can mean waiting up to a month. After withdrawing an invitation, it cannot be resent to that person for up to three weeks. The limits apply to Basic and Premium members alike.

The commonly cited safe limits (not LinkedIn's numbers)

LinkedIn publishes none. The figures everyone repeats come from automation vendors' blogs, so treat them as folklore with a sales motive, not rules:

on the plan.

Source: Salesforge's 2026 connection-limit article (a vendor of automation tools, confidence medium), matched by several other vendors' 2026 pages in the same search.

What we could not confirm about Ulinc

Ulinc is invite-only and publishes almost nothing. Comparable cloud tools start a campaign from a pasted Sales Navigator search URL, and LinkedIn caps any one search at 2,500 results. Whether YT's Ulinc campaigns are fed that way is not in the repo and not public. YT can see it in her Ulinc campaign settings.

Seats today, and the plan

YT has a Sales Navigator seat, tier to confirm, plus LinkedIn Premium (confirmed 2026-09-28 via the Content PM). Courses 1 and 2 cost nothing extra. The tier decides whether list sharing and TeamLink exist, so neither is assumed. Vy has neither. Upgrades wait until after the learning and the official app launch (Phase 2 in the playbook). One thing to check: third-party guides say LinkedIn Learning comes with Premium, which would also open course 3 for YT at no extra cost. LinkedIn's own Premium page now confirms that Premium Career includes LinkedIn Learning (premium.linkedin.com/careers/career, checked 2026-09-28). If YT's Premium is Career, course 3 is free for her too. It is still the oldest of the three, so it stays optional.

Sources (all checked 2026-09-28)